Thank you Steam Sale, I never would have played these games without you…


So we are in the midst of what I think is the longest Steam Sale ever and I’ve been loving every minute of it. I’ve bought games, been gifted games, gifted people games and have really fell in love with the Steam community in general. This is really the first sale I’ve actively participated in and it’s pretty awesome.

For the few of you not familiar with what the Steam Sale actually is, let me break it down for you. It’s basically like Steam is having a Fire Sale. A game that was forty bucks last week might go on sale for ten bucks (or maybe even five bucks if it’s a flash sale). This doesn’t just apply to one or two games either this applies to almost THE ENTIRE STEAM CATALOG! There’s also an added metagame layer to the sale this year that I’m not going to get into. Let’s just say I’ve spent too much money of virtual trading cards…

Some of the games I purchased were ones that I haven’t gotten to play yet like Hitman Absolution, Splinter Cell and The Wolf Among Us and others were games that I love and just haven’t gotten to play on the PC (like Saints Row IV, Don’t Starve and Sonic Racing Transformed). But the two games that have stood out the most for me are two games that were actually gifted to me. Games that are way out of my normal range of gaming and games that can be beat in under a couple of hours. They are also two of the best games I have ever played.

The Stanley Parable  – I’ve heard about this one for a while and never looked into it. It was on my wishlist because I knew I would play it eventually, I just didn’t know when and I was in no rush. My first night with TSP I stayed up till two in the morning and beat the game seven different times. And had seven different endings.

I don’t want to say to much to ruin it for those that haven’t played it yet but The Stanley Parable is a game about choice. Do you chose to follow directions or do you choose to go your own way? What effects to your choices have on your life?

It’s also is a deconstruction of the modern way of gameplay and storytelling. I really don’t want to say more about it, you really should check out the demo to see if you’re intrigued. Also, I want the narrator’s voice in my head all the time.

Gone Home – I don’t know where to start with this one, I didn’t see this one coming.

The plot is that you have just gotten back from a year long trip in Europe. In that year your parents and sister have moved into a house that was handed down to from your great uncle. When you arrive at the house no one is home and there is a note on the door from your sister that tells you not to come looking for her. From there the whole game revolves around figuring out what’s going on and where everyone is.

That is seriously all I am telling you about the plot. The set up of exploring a house that is totally new to the main character (Katie) and the mystery surrounding the fact that no one is home sounds like the biggest survival horror cliche, but it’s not a survival horror game. In fact, there is not one enemy to fight in the game at all (although every time I was going into a dark room my survival horror instincts would go into overdrive). It takes place in the 90’s so there Trapper Keepers to find, cassette tapes to listen to and hand written notes everywhere (the 90’s = no texting). The last thing I’m going to tell you is that it’s a beautiful story told in an absolutely breathtakingly beautiful way. I’m a grown ass man and I teared up at the end.

Both of these games are on sale till the 29th for five to ten dollars (they may get lower, Gone Home was $2.50 at one point). Do yourself a favor and get them.

Geek On!

Will

Leave a Reply

